Writing my Book

I have been writing my book for some time now and I have been through my “in and out of it” phases. After my bosses decided to move in a different direction I have been out of it even though this probably is the perfect time to work on it, since I have so much more supposed free time. It has been harder for me during this time since my inspiration level has fallen flat with my spirits being crushed a bit by former employers that shall not be named.

 I have gotten to a point through my “disappointed and now I have to rethink my life again phase”where I can start thinking more about my creative projects and that includes my “will I ever finish it?” Novel. So I am in the “reasses and evaluate” phase of my novel. Part of that is to think about what influenced me in writing this novel.

So here a few books that influenced my Novel:

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by CS Lewis– I have loved this since I was young. I loved reading this to my sister when she was younger. My story has become about finding portals or a different way to get to a different world, well in my books case to get to a different Time. It also has that theological symbolism aspect of it, as well. The sibling relationships in this affected mine book as well since I have big important sibling relationships in my book. 

The Hobbit by JRR Tolken–  This book really follows the whole “Joseph Cambell” hero format pretty well, where you are introduced to a character in his normal world and he is sent on an all important quest. Bilbo Baggins says it perfectly, “I  am going on an adventure!” I follow this format or at least I have been working on following it. It is a work in progress. 

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell-I read this book in my British Novel class in college and I have fallen in love with it ever since. I really identified with it and with the main character Margeret. Having endured a move or two that I haven’t been that pleased about at first. I really felt that moment when she went back to her old town and realized it wasn’t the same as she had been dreaming about. This book really influenced me with being a coming of age story and having my character start to question things she never did before.

Vampire Academy and Bloodlines by Richelle Mead- So I have been obsessed with these series for a while.It was all my sister’s fault she dragged me into this world. I feel like my main character  is a bit influenced by Rose Hathway and Sydney Sage. She is a bit of a mix of both. She is stubborn and tough like Rose and very smart and intellectual like Sydney. I feel like my main romance does have a similar vibe as Sydney and Adrian romance in the Bloodlines series. 

Now my last influence goes into the religious category.

The Book of Mormon by a bunch of different prophets but edited by Mormon and translated by Joseph Smith- So I mentioned that it was a bit of religious allegory like  The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe. Since I am a Mormon that is what influences me largely on the religious side. My book is called the Book of Time. One day it dawned on me that wow that is like the Book of Mormon. It also works since it is a Time Traveling book about Ancient times and the Book of Mormon does talk about Ancient times as well. I don’t mention spiritual or religious things directly in this but there is a lot of symbolism in it talking about that. 


And there it is. Those are a few of the books that have influenced my current book that I’m working on.  Stay tuned for more musings about my adventures in writing this book.


Leave a Reply

